List of Local Government Areas in Abia State with Headquarters

Abia State, located in the southeastern part of Nigeria, is known for its rich cultural heritage and economic potential. The state is divided into seventeen Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own administrative headquarters. In this article, we will explore the LGAs in Abia State and provide information about their headquarters.

Abia State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 4,900 Km2
  • Capital: Umuahia
  • Population: 3,934,157 (Male- 2,006,420 and Female- 1,927,737)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Rainforest and Savannah
  • Major crops: Cocoa, Rice, Plantain, Maize, Cocoyam, Oil Palm, Cassava, Cashew, Rubber and Plantain.
  • Solid minerals: Iron Ore, Kaolin, Limestone, and Gypsum.

There are three agricultural zones in Abia state: Aba, Umuahia, and Bende.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Auto Components
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Abia has 17 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 17 Local Government Areas in Abia State:

  1. Aba North LGA
  2. Aba South LGA
  3. Arochukwu LGA
  4. Bende LGA
  5. Ikwuano LGA
  6. Isiala Ngwa North LGA
  7. Isiala Ngwa South LGA
  8. Isuikwuato LGA
  9. Obi Ngwa LGA
  10. Ohafia LGA
  11. Osisioma Ngwa LGA
  12. Ugwunagbo LGA
  13. Ukwa East LGA
  14. Ukwa West LGA
  15. Umuahia North LGA
  16. Umuahia South LGA
  17. Umu Nneochi LGA

List of Abia State 17 Local Government Areas with Headquarters

S/NLocal Government AreasHeadquarters
1Aba NorthApumiri Ubakala
2Aba SouthAba
5IkwuanoIsiala Oboro
6Isiala Ngwa NorthOkpuala Ngwa
7Isiala Ngwa SouthOmoba
9Obi NgwaObohia
10OhafiaEbem Ohafia
11Osisioma NgwaOsisioma
13Ukwa EastOkeikpe
14Ukwa WestUkpumiri
15Umuahia NorthUmuahia
16Umuahia SouthUmuahia
17Umu NneochiUmuneochi

These LGAs, with their respective headquarters, are responsible for local administration, infrastructure development, education, healthcare, and other basic services within their jurisdictions. They play a vital role in the overall governance and development of Abia State.

For more information about each LGA, you can visit the official website of the Abia State Government (, where you can find detailed information about the LGAs, their history, demographics, and ongoing projects.

It’s important to note that the headquarters mentioned above are subject to change or relocation due to administrative decisions or developmental projects. Therefore, it is advisable to consult official government sources for the most up-to-date information.

In conclusion, Abia State comprises seventeen Local Government Areas, each with its own administrative headquarters. These LGAs are responsible for local governance and service delivery. Understanding the structure and organization of these LGAs is crucial for anyone interested in the affairs of Abia State and its local communities.

List of Languages in Abia Local Government Areas

Local Government AreasLanguages
ArochukwuIgbo, Ibibio
Umuahia SouthIgbo
Umuahia NorthIgbo
Ukwa WestAsa
Aba SouthNgwa
Aba NorthNgwa
Isiala Ngwa NorthNgwa
Isiala Ngwa SouthNgwa
Ukwa EastNdoki

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.