List of Local Government Areas in Benue State with Headquarters

Benue State, located in the North Central region of Nigeria, is known for its rich cultural heritage and agricultural prowess. The state is divided into several Local Government Areas (LGAs) that serve as administrative units responsible for local governance and development. Here is a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Benue State, along with their respective headquarters.

Benue State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 30,800 Km2
  • Capital: Makurdi
  • Population: 6,096,869 (Male- 3,109,403 and Female- 2,987,466)
  • Vegetation: Rainforest and Guinea savannah
  • Major crops: Yams, Rice, Beans, Cassava, Potatoes, Maize, Soya beans, Sorghum, Millet, Cocoyam, Sesame, Melon, Groundnut, and Tomato.
  • Solid minerals: Kaolin, Limestone, Barytes, Gemstone, Gypsum, Feldspar, Wolframite

There are three agricultural zones in Benue state: Northern Zone: comprising of Buruku, Makurdi, Gwer-West, Gboko, Guma, Gwer East, and Tarka Local Government Areas. Central Zones: Comprise of Ado, Obi, Agatu, Apa, Ogbadibo, Ohimini, Okpokwu, Oju and Otukpo Local Government Areas.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Benue has 23 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 23 Local Government Areas in Benue State:

  1. Ado
  2. Agatu LGA
  3. Apa LGA
  4. Ado LGA
  5. Buruku LGA
  6. Gboko LGA
  7. Guma LGA
  8. Gwer East/West LGA
  9. Katsina-Ala LGA
  10. Konshisha LGA
  11. Kwande LGA
  12. Logo LGA
  13. Makurdi LGA
  14. Obi LGA
  15. Ogbadibo LGA
  16. Ohimini LGA
  17. Oju LGA
  18. Okpokwu LGA
  19. Otukpo LGA
  20. Tarka LGA
  21. Ukum LGA
  22. Ushongo LGA
  23. Vandeikya LGA

List of Benue State 23 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Gwer EastAliade
Gwer WestNaka

Each of these LGAs plays a vital role in the overall development and administration of Benue State. They are responsible for implementing government policies and programs at the grassroots level, as well as providing important services to the residents within their jurisdiction.

If you want to learn more about a specific LGA or its headquarters, you can visit the official website of the Benue State Government at or reach out to the appropriate local government authorities for detailed information.

Benue State’s LGAs showcase the diversity and unique characteristics of the various communities that make up the state. They contribute to the social, economic, and political development of the region, and serve as the backbone of local governance.

As Benue State continues to grow and evolve, the effective functioning and coordination of its LGAs will play a pivotal role in ensuring sustainable development, improved service delivery, and the overall well-being of its residents.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.