List of Local Government Areas in Edo State with Headquarters

Edo State, located in southern Nigeria, is divided into several Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own administrative headquarters. This article provides a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Edo State, along with their respective headquarters.

Edo State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 19,187 Km2
  • Population: 4,470,605 (Male- 2,280,008 and Female- 2,190,596)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah and Monsoon.
  • Major crops: Rubber, Oil Palm, Cassava, Rice, Cocoa, Banana and Cashew.
  • Mineral Resources: Crude oil, Limestone, Granite, Quartz, Marble, Gold and Rubber.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Edo has 18 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 18 Local Government Areas in Edo State:

  1. Akoko-Edo LGA
  2. Egor LGA
  3. Esan Central LGA
  4. Esan North-East LGA
  5. Esan South-East LGA
  6. Esan West LGA
  7. Etsako Central LGA
  8. Etsako East LGA
  9. Etsako West LGA
  10. Igueben LGA
  11. Ikpoba-Okha LGA
  12. Oredo LGA
  13. Orhionmwon LGA
  14. Ovia North-East LGA
  15. Ovia South-West LGA
  16. Owan East LGA
  17. Owan West LGA
  18. Uhunmwonde LGA

List of Edo State’s 13 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Edo State along with their headquarters:

Esan CentralIrrua
Esan North-EastUromi
Esan South-EastUbiaja
Esan WestEkpoma
Etsako CentralFugar
Etsako EastAgenebode
Etsako WestAuchi
OredoBenin City
Ovia North-EastOkada
Ovia South-WestIguobazuwa
Owan EastEwohimi
Owan WestSabongida-Ora

Each LGA plays a vital role in the administration and governance of Edo State. They are responsible for implementing government policies, providing important services, and ensuring the welfare of the local communities within their jurisdiction.

For more detailed information on each LGA, you can visit the official website of Edo State Government at The website provides additional resources and updates on the various LGAs, including their projects, initiatives, and contact information.

It is worth noting that the list of LGAs in Edo State is subject to change as new ones may be created or existing ones may be modified. To stay up-to-date with the latest information, it is advisable to regularly consult official government sources or reach out to the relevant authorities in Edo State.

Understanding the LGAs and their headquarters is important for anyone interested in the local governance and development of Edo State. These administrative divisions ensure effective representation and service delivery to the people residing within each LGA, contributing to the overall progress and well-being of the state as a whole.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.