List of Local Government Areas in Ekiti State with Headquarters

Ekiti State is located in southwestern Nigeria and is known as the “Fountain of Knowledge.” It was created on October 1, 1996, and is home to several Local Government Areas (LGAs) that serve as administrative units within the state. In this article, we will provide a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Ekiti State, along with their respective headquarters.

Ekiti State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 5,434 Km2
  • Population: 3,480,006 (Male-1,774,803 and Female-1,705,203)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah.
  • Major crops: Yam, Cocoa, Oil Palm, Rice, Cassava, Maize and Cashew.
  • Solid minerals: Tin-Ore, Bauxite, Tantalite, Granite and Timber.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Energy
  • Mining
  • Tourism

Ekiti has 16 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 16 Local Government Areas in Ekiti State:

  1. Ado-Ekiti LGA
  2. Ikere LGA
  3. Oye LGA
  4. Aiyekire (Gbonyin) LGA
  5. Efon LGA
  6. Ekiti East LGA
  7. Ekiti South-West LGA
  8. Ekiti West LGA
  9. Emure LGA
  10. Ido-Osi LGA
  11. Ijero LGA
  12. Ikole LGA
  13. Ilejemeje LGA
  14. Irepodun/Ifelodun LGA
  15. Ise/Orun LGA
  16. Moba LGA

List of Ekiti State’s 16 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Ekiti State along with their headquarters:

Local Government Area (LGA)HeadquartersWebsite
Ado EkitiAdo EkitiOfficial Website
Ekiti EastOmuo-EkitiN/A
Ekiti South WestIlawe-EkitiN/A
Ekiti WestAramoko-EkitiN/A
Ido OsiIdo-EkitiN/A

Please note that some LGAs may not have official websites, which is indicated by “N/A” in the website column.

Ekiti State boasts a rich cultural heritage, vibrant markets, and tourist attractions, making each LGA a unique destination to explore. Ado Ekiti, the state capital, is a bustling city and serves as the headquarters of the Ado Ekiti LGA. It is home to several institutions, including Ekiti State University and Afe Babalola University.

Ikere-Ekiti, the headquarters of the Ikere LGA, is known for its historical significance and landmarks such as the Olosunta Hills. Other LGAs, such as Ekiti East, Ekiti South West, Ekiti West, Emure, Gbonyin, Ido Osi, Ijero, Ikole, Ilejemeje, Irepodun/Ifelodun, Ise/Orun, Moba, and Oye, also have their unique characteristics and attractions.

Each LGA plays a crucial role in the governance and development of Ekiti State. The local government system ensures effective administration, service delivery, and grassroots development across the state.

For further information about specific LGAs, it is recommended to visit the respective LGA websites, if available. These websites often provide details about local government activities, news, and services.

Exploring the LGAs of Ekiti State offers a chance to experience the rich cultural heritage and natural beauty of the region. Whether you are interested in historical sites, traditional festivals, or engaging with the local communities, each LGA has something unique to offer.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.