List of Local Government Areas in Enugu State with Headquarters

Enugu State, located in the southeastern part of Nigeria, is one of the 36 states in the country. It is known as the “Coal City State” due to its significant coal reserves. Enugu State comprises several Local Government Areas (LGAs), each headed by a local government chairman. Here is a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Enugu State and their headquarters:

Enugu has 17 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 17 Local Government Areas in Enugu State:

  1. Aninri LGA
  2. Awgu LGA
  3. Enugu East LGA
  4. Enugu North LGA
  5. Enugu South LGA
  6. Ezeagu LGA
  7. Igbo Etiti LGA
  8. Igbo Eze North LGA
  9. Igbo Eze South LGA
  10. Isi Uzo LGA
  11. Nkanu East LGA
  12. Nkanu West LGA
  13. Nsukka LGA
  14. Oji River LGA
  15. Udenu LGA
  16. Udi LGA
  17. Uzo-Uwani LGA

List of Enugu State’s 17 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Enugu State along with their headquarters:

Enugu EastNkwo Nike
Enugu NorthUdi
Enugu SouthEnugu
Igbo EtitiOgbede
Igbo Eze NorthEnugu-Ezike
Igbo Eze SouthIbagwa-Ani
Isi UzoIkem
Nkanu EastAmagunze
Nkanu WestAgbani
Oji RiverOji River
UdenuObollo Afor

Each of these LGAs plays a significant role in the governance and development of Enugu State. They serve as administrative units responsible for providing important services and amenities to their respective communities.

Enugu State, with its capital in Enugu, is known for its rich cultural heritage, historical landmarks, and natural attractions. It is home to several notable institutions, including the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN), one of the premier universities in Nigeria.

For more information about Enugu State and its LGAs, you can visit the official website of the Enugu State Government

Exploring the LGAs of Enugu State allows visitors and residents to appreciate the diverse cultures, traditions, and natural beauty that the state has to offer. From the coal mines of Enugu to the tranquil hills and valleys, Enugu State showcases the rich history and vibrant presence of the eastern region of Nigeria.

Enugu State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 7,534 Km2
  • Population: 4,683,887 (Male- 2,388,782 and Female- 2,295,105)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah.
  • Major crops: Melon, Yams, Oil Palm, Taro, Maize, Rice, and Cassava.
  • Solid minerals: Iron-Ore, Coal, Lead-Zinc Ore.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

1 thought on “List of Local Government Areas in Enugu State with Headquarters”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.