List of Local Government Areas in Jigawa State with Headquarters

Jigawa State is located in the northwestern part of Nigeria and is known as the “New World.” It was created on the 27th of August, 1991, and is made up of 27 Local Government Areas (LGAs). Each LGA has its own administrative headquarters, where local governance and development activities are carried out. Here is a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Jigawa State, along with their respective headquarters.

Jigawa State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 23,287 Km2
  • Population: 6,176,192 (Male- 3,149,858 and Female- 3,026,334)
  • Vegetation: Sudan and Guinea Savannah
  • Major crops: Hibiscus, Soya Beans, Cowpea, Tomato, Maize, groundnut, Millet, Rice, Sesame, and Sorghum.
  • Solid minerals: Granite, Tin, Kaolin, Columbite, Iron-Ore, and Soda Ash

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Jigawa has 27 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 27 Local Government Areas in Jigawa State:

  1. Auyo LGA
  2. Babura LGA
  3. Biriniwa LGA
  4. Birnin Kudu LGA
  5. Buji LGA
  6. Dutse LGA
  7. Gagarawa LGA
  8. Garki LGA
  9. Gumel LGA
  10. Guri LGA
  11. Gwaram LGA
  12. Gwiwa LGA
  13. Hadejia LGA
  14. Jahun LGA
  15. Kafin Hausa LGA
  16. Kaugama LGA
  17. Kazaure LGA
  18. Kiri Kasama LGA
  19. Kiyawa LGA
  20. Maigatari LGA
  21. Malam Madori LGA
  22. Miga LGA
  23. Ringim LGA
  24. Roni LGA
  25. Sule Tankarkar LGA
  26. Taura LGA
  27. Yankwashi LGA

List of Jigawa State’s 27 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Jigawa State along with their headquarters:

LGA NameHeadquarters
Birnin KuduBirnin Kudu
Kafin HausaKafin Hausa
Malam MadoriMalam Madori
Sule TankarkarSule Tankarkar

Jigawa State is blessed with a diverse population and culture. The LGAs play a crucial role in the administration and development of the state. They provide basic amenities, infrastructure, healthcare, education, and other important services to the local communities.

To learn more about each LGA and its activities, you can visit the Jigawa State Government website at The website provides up-to-date information on the government’s initiatives, news, and events happening in the state.

Jigawa State continues to strive for growth and development, and the local government areas are at the forefront of this progress. The state government, in collaboration with the LGAs, is working towards improving the lives of its citizens and creating an enabling environment for businesses and investments.

As the state continues to evolve, it is important to stay informed about the activities and developments happening in each LGA. The local government areas are integral to the overall progress and well-being of the people of Jigawa State.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

1 thought on “List of Local Government Areas in Jigawa State with Headquarters”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.