List of Local Government Areas in Kogi State with Headquarters

Kogi State, located in the central region of Nigeria, is divided into 22 Local Government Areas (LGAs). Each LGA has its administrative headquarters where local governance and decision-making processes take place.

Kogi State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 27,747 Km2
  • Capital: Lokoja
  • Population: 4,750,115 (Male- 2,422,559 and Female-2,327,557)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Cassava, Rice, Cashew, Coffee, Cocoa, Palm Oil, Groundnuts, Maize, Yam and Melon.
  • Solid minerals: Limestone, Iron Ore, Marble, and Gemstone.

There are four agricultural zones in Kogi state namely Aiyetoro-Gbede, Anyigba, Koton-karfe and Alloma.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Mining

Kogi has 22 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 22 Local Government Areas in Kogi State:

  1. Kabba Town Area

Kogi State L.G.A

  1. Adavi LGA
  2. Ajaokuta LGA
  3. Ankpa LGA
  4. Bassa LGA
  5. Dekina LGA
  6. Ibaji LGA
  7. Idah LGA
  8. Igalamela Odolu LGA
  9. Ijumu LGA
  10. Kabba/Bunu LGA
  11. Koton Karfe LGA
  12. Kogi LGA
  13. Lokoja LGA
  14. Mopa Muro LGA
  15. Ofu LGA
  16. Ogori/Magongo LGA
  17. Okehi LGA
  18. Okene LGA
  19. Olamaboro LGA
  20. Omala LGA
  21. Yagba East LGA
  22. Yagba West L.G.A

List of Kogi State’s 22 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Kogi State along with their headquarters:

LGA NameHeadquarters
KogiKoton Karfe
Yagba EastIsanlu
Yagba WestOdo-Ere

It’s important to note that each LGA has its own unique characteristics, cultural heritage, and natural resources. Kogi State is known for its diverse ethnic groups, including the Igala, Ebira, Bassa, Nupe, and Yoruba, which contribute to the cultural richness of the state.

If you would like to learn more about each Local Government Area and its history, economy, or tourist attractions, you can visit the official Kogi State Government website at Additionally, the National Population Commission of Nigeria provides valuable demographic information about each LGA on its official website at

The LGAs in Kogi State play a crucial role in promoting grassroots development, delivering important services, and ensuring effective governance at the local level. These administrative units are vital for promoting social welfare, infrastructure development, healthcare delivery, education, and agriculture in the state.

It’s important to acknowledge the efforts of the government, traditional rulers, community leaders, and residents in each LGA in working towards the sustainable development of Kogi State. Their collective contributions are instrumental in shaping the future of the state and improving the quality of life for its inhabitants.

As Kogi State continues to grow and evolve, it is important to stay updated on the progress and development initiatives undertaken by each LGA. This knowledge can help promote collaboration, awareness, and participation in efforts aimed at fostering sustainable development and improving the overall well-being of the people in Kogi State.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. It is always recommended to cross-reference with up-to-date sources for the most accurate and current information.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.