List of Local Government Areas in Kwara State with Headquarters

Kwara State is located in the North-Central region of Nigeria. It was created on May 27, 1967, and has its capital in Ilorin. The state is divided into several Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own administrative headquarters.

Kwara State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 35,705Km2
  • Capital: Ilorin
  • Population: 3,390,330 (Male- 1,729,068 and Female- 1,661,262)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Rice, Cotton, Cocoa, Tomato, Sugarcane, Millet, Cassava, Soya Bean, Maize, Beniseed, Palm Produce and Ginger.
  • Solid minerals: Quartz, Limestone, Marble, Feldspar, Clay, Kaolin, Granite Rocks, Silica Sand and Dolomite.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Manufacturing
  • Tourism
  • Mining

Kwara has 16 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 16 Local Government Areas in Kwara State:

  1. Asa LGA
  2. Baruten LGA
  3. Edu LGA
  4. Ekiti LGA
  5. Ifelodun LGA
  6. Ilorin East LGA
  7. Ilorin South LGA
  8. Ilorin West LGA
  9. Irepodun LGA
  10. Isin LGA
  11. Kaiama LGA
  12. Moro LGA
  13. Offa LGA
  14. Oke Ero LGA
  15. Oyun LGA
  16. Pategi LGA

List of Kwara State’s 16 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Kwara State along with their headquarters:

EkitiAraromi Opin
Ilorin EastOke-Oyi
Ilorin SouthFufu
Ilorin WestOja Oba

These LGAs in Kwara State are further divided into wards and districts to facilitate governance and ensure effective administration. Each LGA has its own unique characteristics, cultural heritage, and geographical features.

For the most up-to-date information, it is advisable to refer to official government sources or websites such as the Kwara State Government website ( or the National Population Commission website (

The Local Government Areas play a significant role in the development of Kwara State. They are responsible for the implementation of government policies, provision of basic amenities, and ensuring the welfare of the people at the grassroots level. The LGAs also serve as a platform for citizen participation in governance through elected representatives known as Local Government Chairmen and Councillors.

Kwara State, with its diverse LGAs and their respective headquarters, showcases the rich cultural heritage, economic potential, and administrative structure of the state. It remains an important part of Nigeria’s political landscape and contributes to the overall development and progress of the nation.

Disclaimer: It’s important to note that the information provided in this article is based on the knowledge available up to January 2024, and there may have been changes in the administrative divisions since then. For the most up-to-date information, it is recommended to visit the official sources or contact the relevant authorities in Kwara state.


  1. Kwara State Government website:
  2. National Population Commission website:

4 thoughts on “List of Local Government Areas in Kwara State with Headquarters”

  1. This information is accurate and factual.
    The update is helpful, I never have I thought I would meet such a great information about my State of origin as I do here.
    Thanks to the team that made it possible


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.