List of Local Government Areas in Ondo State with Headquarters

Ondo State nicknamed “Sunshine State” was created on 3 February 1976 from the former Western State. It originally included what is now Ekiti State, which was split off in 1996. The economy of Ondo State is the sixth largest in Nigeria and is dominated by crude oil and crop production.

Ondo State produces more than 75,000 tons of quality cocoa annually, has the largest Bitumen deposit in Africa, and has the longest coastline in Nigeria of 180km.

Ondo State is located in the southwestern region of Nigeria and is made up of several Local Government Areas (LGAs). Each LGA has its own headquarters where administrative activities are carried out. This article provides a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Ondo State along with their respective headquarters.

Ondo State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 15,820 Km2
  • Population: 4,960,577 (Male- 2,529,894 and Female- 2,430,683)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah and Monsoon.
  • Major crops: Cocoyam, Rubber, Oil Palm, Cashew, Cocoa.
  • Mineral Resources: Bitumen, Timber, Crude oil, Limestone, Granite, Coal, Columbine.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining
  • Logistics

Ondo has 18 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 18 Local Government Areas in Ondo State:

  1. Akoko North-East LGA
  2. Akoko North-West LGA
  3. Akoko South-East LGA
  4. Akoko South-West LGA
  5. Akure North LGA
  6. Akure South LGA
  7. Ese Odo LGA
  8. Idanre LGA
  9. Ifedore LGA
  10. Ilaje LGA
  11. Ile Oluji/Okeigbo LGA
  12. Irele LGA
  13. Odigbo LGA
  14. Okitipupa LGA
  15. Ondo East LGA
  16. Ondo West LGA
  17. Ose LGA
  18. Owo LGA

List of Ondo State’s 18 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Ondo State along with their headquarters:

Local Government Area (LGA)Headquarters
Akoko North-EastIkare
Akoko North-WestOke Agbe
Akoko South-EastOka
Akoko South-WestOndo
Akure NorthIju-Odo
Akure SouthAkure
Ese OdoIgbekebo
Ile Oluji/OkeigboIle-Oluji
Ondo EastBolorunduro
Ondo WestOndo

Please note that the information provided in this table is accurate as of the time of writing this article and may be subject to change. For the most up-to-date information, it is advisable to consult official government sources or the Ondo State Government website.

For more information about each LGA, you can visit the official website of the Ondo State Government at The website provides details about the government structure, local government administration, and various services offered in each LGA.

It is important to be aware of the LGAs and their respective headquarters, as they play a crucial role in the governance and development of Ondo State. Understanding the administrative structure helps in accessing government services, participating in local decision-making processes, and staying informed about the development initiatives taking place in the different LGAs.

In conclusion, Ondo State consists of several LGAs, each with its own headquarters. This article has provided a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Ondo State and their respective headquarters. Stay informed and engaged with your local government for a better understanding of the development activities in your area.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge available up to January 2024, and there may have been changes in administrative divisions since then. It is always recommended to verify the latest information from official sources or the Ondo State Government website mentioned above.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.