List of Local Government Areas in Zamfara State with Headquarters

Zamfara State is a state in Northwestern Nigeria and its capital is Gusau. Until its creation on 1 October 1996, the state was part of Sokoto State. Zamfara is bounded by Sokoto State to the North, Niger and Kaduna States to the South, Kebbi State to the West, and Katsina State to the East.

The occupation of the people of the state is primarily farming, hence, the nickname “Farming is our Pride”.

Zamfara State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 37,931 Km2
  • Capital: Gusau
  • Population: 5,307,154 (Male- 2,706,649 and Female- 2,600,506)
  • Vegetation: Hot Semi-arid and Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Millet, Guinea corn, Maize, Rice, Potato, Wheat, Tomato, Groundnut, Cotton, Tobacco and Beans.
  • Solid minerals: Gold, Iron-Ore, Copper, Tantalite, Manganese

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Zamfara State is located in the northwestern part of Nigeria and is divided into local government areas (LGAs) for administrative purposes. Each LGA is headed by a chairman who oversees the affairs of the area.

Zamfara has 14 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 14 Local Government Areas in Zamfara State:

  1. Anka LGA
  2. Bakura LGA
  3. Birnin Magaji/Kiyaw LGA
  4. Bukkuyum LGA
  5. Bungudu LGA
  6. Tsafe LGA
  7. Gummi LGA
  8. Gusau LGA
  9. Kaura Namoda LGA
  10. Maradun LGA
  11. Maru LGA
  12. Shinkafi LGA
  13. Talata Mafara LGA
  14. Zurmi LGA

List of Zamfara State’s 17 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Zamfara State along with their headquarters:

Birnin Magaji/KiyawBirnin Magaji
Kaura NamodaKaura Namoda
Talata MafaraTalata Mafara

These LGAs are further divided into wards and districts to ensure effective governance and representation of the people at the grassroots level. Each LGA has its unique characteristics, culture, and socioeconomic activities.

It is important to note that Zamfara State has experienced security challenges in recent years, particularly with regards to banditry. The state government, in collaboration with the federal government, has been working tirelessly to address these security issues and restore peace in the state.

To learn more about each LGA and their specific characteristics, you can visit the official website of Zamfara State Government []. The website provides detailed information about the state, including the LGAs, their histories, demographics, and development projects.

Additionally, if you are interested in exploring tourism opportunities in Zamfara State, you can visit the Zamfara State Tourism Board website []. The website showcases the rich cultural heritage and tourist attractions in the state, promoting tourism and economic development.

Zamfara State, despite its challenges, remains a vibrant and culturally diverse state with significant potential for growth and development. The LGAs play a crucial role in the administration and governance of the state, ensuring that the needs of the people are met and their voices heard.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge available up to January 2024, and there may have been changes in administrative divisions since then. It is always recommended to verify the latest information from official sources or the Zamfara State Government website mentioned above.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.