List of Local Government Areas in Borno State with Headquarters

Borno State is located in northeastern Nigeria and is known as the “Home of Peace.” It is the largest state in Nigeria by land area and is divided into 27 Local Government Areas (LGAs). Each LGA has its own administrative headquarters where local governance is carried out. Here is a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Borno State along with their headquarters:

Borno has 27 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 27 Local Government Areas in Borno State:

  1. Abadam LGA
  2. Askira/Uba LGA
  3. Bama
  4. Bama LGA
  5. Bayo LGA
  6. Biu
  7. Chibok LGA
  8. Damboa LGA
  9. Dikwa LGA
  10. Gubio LGA
  11. Guzamala LGA
  12. Gwoza LGA
  13. Hawul LGA
  14. Jere LGA
  15. Kala/Balge LGA
  16. Kaga LGA
  17. Konduga LGA
  18. Kukawa LGA
  19. Kwaya Kusar LGA

List of Towns and Villages in Borno State

  1. Mafa LGA
  2. Magumeri LGA
  3. Maiduguri
  4. Marte LGA
  5. Mobbar LGA
  6. Monguno LGA
  7. Ngala LGA
  8. Nganzai LGA
  9. Shani LGA

List of Borno State’s 27 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

AbadamMalam Fatori
Kwaya KusarKwaya Kusar
Maiduguri MetropolitanMaiduguri
NgalaGamboru Ngala

Please note that the headquarters mentioned above are subject to change, and it’s always advisable to verify the current administrative locations through official sources or the Borno State Government’s website.

For further information on Borno State’s LGAs, you can visit the official website of the Borno State Government at or the Nigeria National Bureau of Statistics website at

Understanding the LGAs and their headquarters is crucial for anyone looking to explore Borno State, engage in research, or conduct business in the region. Each LGA has its unique cultural heritage, natural attractions, and economic opportunities.

List of Languages Spoken in Borno State

Askira-UbaPutai; Bura-Pabir; Gude; Kibaku; Marghi Central; Marghi South; Nggwahyi; Nya Huba; Marghi
BamaShuwa Arabic; Yerwa Kanuri; Wandala; Mafa; Marghi
BiuBura-Pabir; Dera; Ga’anda; Jara; Putai, Marghi
ChibokKibaku; Putai; Marghi
DamboaKibaku; Marghi Central; Putai; Mulgwai; Kanuri
DikwaShuwa Arab
GwozaCineni; Dghwede; Glavda; Guduf-Gava; Gvoko; Hide; Yerwa Kanuri; Lamang; Mafa; Sukur; Waja; Wandala; Marghi
HawulBura, Hwana, Putai mafa; Marghi
Jilbe townJilbe
KagaYerwa Kanuri; Putai
Kala/BalgeShuwa Arab; kanuri; Afade
KondugaShuwa Arabic; Yerwa Kanuri; Maffa; Putai; Wanda; Marghi
KukawaYerwa Kanuri
Kwaya-KusarBura, Putai, Marghi South
MaiduguriYerwa Kanuri; Mafa
MongunoYerwa Kanuri; Mafa
NgalaShuwa Arab; Yerwa Kanuri
Languages Spoken in Borno State

Other languages of Borno State are Lala-Roba, Tarjumo, Yedina, and Tedaga.

Borno State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 72,609 Km2
  • Capital: Maiduguri
  • Population: 6,272,536 (Male- 3,198,993 and Female- 3,073,543)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Millet, Sorghum, Maize, Cowpea, Rice, Wheat, Cassava, Cocoyam, Gum Arabic, Livestock, Tamarind, Mangoes, Oranges, Tomatoes, Onions, Cabbage, Lettuce, Spinach and Groundnut.
  • Solid minerals: Feldspar, Limestone, Kaolin, Clay, Potash, Iron-Ore, Natural Salt, Quartz, Magnetite, Diatomite, Trona, Mica, Silica Sand, Gypsum, Granite Chips, Flutters Earth and Uranium.
  • There are three agricultural zones in Borno state: Biu, Bama and Kukawa

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Manufacturing
  • Real Estate
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.