List of Local Government Areas in Lagos State with Headquarters

Lagos State, located in the southwestern part of Nigeria, is one of the most populous and economically vibrant states in the country. It is divided into several Local Government Areas (LGAs) which serve as administrative units for effective governance and service delivery. In this article, we present a comprehensive list of all the Local Government Areas in Lagos State, along with their respective headquarters.

Lagos State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 3,671 Km2
  • Capital: Ikeja
  • Population: 13,380,098 (Male- 6,823,850 and Female- 6,556,248)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah.
  • Major crops: Yam, Coconut, Oil Palm
  • Solid minerals: Silica Sand, Bitumen and Clay

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Lagos has 20 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 20 Local Government Areas in Lagos State:

  1. Agege LGA
  2. Alimosho LGA
  3. Apapa LGA
  4. Ifako-Ijaye LGA
  5. Ikeja LGA
  6. Kosofe LGA
  7. Mushin LGA
  8. Oshodi-Isolo LGA
  9. Shomolu LGA
  10. Eti-Osa LGA
  11. Lagos Island LGA
  12. Lagos Mainland LGA
  13. Surulere LGA
  14. Ojo LGA
  15. Ajeromi-Ifelodun LGA
  16. Amuwo-Odofin LGA

Non-metropolitan Lagos State

  1. Badagry LGA
  2. Ikorodu LGA
  3. Ibeju-Lekki LGA
  4. Epe LGA

List of Lagos State’s 20 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Lagos State along with their headquarters:

Amuwo-OdofinFestac Town
Lagos IslandLagos Island
Lagos MainlandEbute Metta

  1. Agege: Headquarters: Agege
  2. Ajeromi-Ifelodun: Headquarters: Ajegunle
  3. Alimosho: Headquarters: Ikotun
  4. Amuwo-Odofin: Headquarters: Festac Town
  5. Apapa: Headquarters: Apapa
  6. Badagry: Headquarters: Badagry
  7. Epe: Headquarters: Epe
  8. Eti-Osa: Headquarters: Ikoyi
  9. Ibeju-Lekki: Headquarters: Akodo
  10. Ifako-Ijaiye: Headquarters: Ifako
  11. Ikeja: Headquarters: Ikeja
  12. Ikorodu: Headquarters: Ikorodu
  13. Kosofe: Headquarters: Kosofe
  14. Lagos Island: Headquarters: Lagos Island
  15. Lagos Mainland: Headquarters: Ebute Metta
  16. Mushin: Headquarters: Mushin
  17. Ojo: Headquarters: Ojo
  18. Oshodi-Isolo: Headquarters: Oshodi
  19. Somolu: Headquarters: Somolu
  20. Surulere: Headquarters: Surulere

Note: The headquarters mentioned above represent the administrative centers of the respective Local Government Areas.

Conclusion: Lagos State, with its numerous Local Government Areas, plays a crucial role in the governance and development of Nigeria. Each Local Government Area has its own headquarters, which serves as the administrative center for that particular area. This list provides valuable information about the Local Government Areas in Lagos State and their respective headquarters. For more details about the local governance and services provided in each LGA, it is advisable to visit the official website of the Lagos State Government or contact the relevant local authorities.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. It is always recommended to cross-reference with up-to-date sources for the most accurate and current information.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.