List of Local Government Areas in Nasarawa State with Headquarters

Nasarawa State is located in the North-Central region of Nigeria. It was created on October 1, 1996, and has its capital in Lafia. The state is made up of thirteen Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own administrative headquarters.

Nasarawa State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 28,735 Km2
  • Capital: Lafia
  • Population: 2,679,433 (Male- 1,366,511 and Female- 1,312,922)
  • Vegetation: Guinea Savannah
  • Major crops: Yam, Maize, Cassava, Groundnut, Garden Eggs, Rice, Sorghum, Sugarcane, Pepper, Cowpea, Benniseed, Mellon, Soya Beans, Cashew nuts, Sesame Seed, Shea Butter.
  • Solid minerals: Barite, Coal, Clay, Lead-Zinc, Sault, Gemstone, Silica Sand, Iron Ore, Granite, Tantalite, Marble, Mica, Cassiterite, Limestone, Aquamarine.
  • There are three agricultural zones in Nasarawa state: Southern: Obi, Awe, and Doma, Western: Toto, Kokona, Karu, and Northern: Nasarawa Eggon, Akwanga, and Wamba.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Nasarawa has 13 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 13 Local Government Areas in Nasarawa State:

  1. Akwanga LGA
  2. Awe LGA
  3. Doma LGA
  4. Karu LGA
  5. Keana LGA
  6. Keffi LGA
  7. Kokona LGA
  8. Lafia LGA
  9. Nasarawa LGA
  10. Nasarawa Egon LGA
  11. Obi LGA
  12. Toto LGA
  13. Wamba LGA

List of Nasarawa State’s 13 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Nasarawa State along with their headquarters:


These LGAs serve as administrative units within the state, each with its own local government council responsible for the provision of basic amenities and governance at the grassroots level.

It is noteworthy that Nasarawa State has diverse ethnic groups and cultures. The LGAs reflect this diversity and contribute to the socio-economic development of the state. Nasarawa State is known for its agricultural potential, with fertile land suitable for the cultivation of various crops such as maize, yam, millet, and rice.

If you are interested in exploring more about Nasarawa State or any specific LGA, you can visit the official website of the Nasarawa State Government here. The website provides valuable information about the state, including news, government services, and updates on development projects.

Additionally, suppose you are planning to visit any of the LGAs. In that case, it is advisable to gather more information about the specific locations, tourist attractions, and cultural heritage sites that might be of interest to you.

Nasarawa State offers a unique blend of cultural diversity, natural resources, and historical significance. Exploring the different LGAs within the state provides an opportunity to experience the rich cultural heritage and hospitality of the people of Nasarawa.

Disclaimer: It’s important to note that the information provided in this article is based on the knowledge available up to January 2024, and there may have been changes in the administrative divisions since then. For the most up-to-date information, it is recommended to visit the official sources or contact the relevant authorities in Nasarawa state.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.