List of Local Government Areas in Niger State with Headquarters

Niger State is one of the 36 states in Nigeria and has 25 LGAs located in the North Central region of the country. The state has the largest landmass with about 70% arable and cultivable land.  It is nicknamed “Power State” as it is home to three (3) hydroelectric dams that generate about 70% combined power output in the Nation’s Power Sector.

Niger State was created on 3 February 1976 from the defunct North–Western State during the regime of General Murtala Mohammed.

The State is bordered to the North by Zamfara State, West by Kebbi State, South by Kogi State, southwest by Kwara State, Northeast by Kaduna State, and Southeast by FCT. The State also has an International Boundary with the Republic of Benin along Agwara and Borgu LGAs to the Northwest, thereby promoting trade relations.

Niger State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 68,925 Km2
  • Capital: Minna
  • Population: 5,947,214 (Male- 3,033,079 and Female- 2,914,135)
  • Vegetation: Sudan savannah
  • Major crops: Yam, Cassava, Shea Butter, Sorghum, Maize, Millet, Rice, Groundnut And Cowpea
  • Solid minerals: Talc, Gold, Ball Clays, Silica, Sand, Marble, Copper, Iron, Feldspar, Lead, Kaolin, Casserole, Columbite, Mica, Quartzite and Limestone
  • There are three agricultural zones in Niger State.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining
  • ICT

Niger State is made up of several Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own administrative headquarters.

Niger has 25 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 25 Local Government Areas in Niger State:

  1. Agaie LGA
  2. Agwara LGA
  3. Bida LGA
  4. Borgu LGA
  5. Bosso LGA
  6. Chanchaga LGA
  7. Edati LGA
  8. Gbako LGA
  9. Gurara LGA
  10. Katcha LGA
  11. Kontagora LGA
  12. Lapai LGA
  13. Lavun LGA
  14. Magama LGA
  15. Mariga LGA
  16. Mashegu LGA
  17. Mokwa LGA
  18. Moya LGA
  19. Paikoro LGA
  20. Rafi LGA
  21. Rijau LGA
  22. Shiroro LGA
  23. Suleja LGA
  24. Tafa LGA
  25. Wushishi LGA

List of Niger State’s 25 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Niger State along with their headquarters:

BorguNew Bussa
EdatiNew Egbe
GuraraSarkin Noma
MunyaSarkin Pawa

Niger State is known for its diverse cultural heritage and natural attractions. It is home to the Gurara Falls, Kainji Lake National Park, and the Jebba Hydroelectric Power Station. Each LGA plays a crucial role in the overall governance and development of the state.

To learn more about Niger State and its LGAs, you can visit the official website of the Niger State Government at The website provides up-to-date information on the state’s activities, projects, and initiatives.

Niger State continues to grow and develop, and the LGAs within the state play a vital role in shaping its future. Each LGA contributes to the cultural, social, and economic fabric of the state, making Niger State a unique and vibrant part of Nigeria.

Disclaimer: It’s important to note that the information provided in this article is based on the knowledge available up to January 2024, and there may have been changes in the administrative divisions since then. For the most up-to-date information, it is recommended to visit the official sources or contact the relevant authorities in Niger state.

2 thoughts on “List of Local Government Areas in Niger State with Headquarters”

  1. The capital of Munya LGA is not sakin noma but sakin pawa, and Gurara is not Sarkin pawa. Also, paikoro is not tegina. Others too should be checked to avoid mislead people, thanks.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.