List of Local Government Areas in Osun State with Headquarters

Osun State created on 27 August 1991 is located in the South-Western region of Nigeria. It is bounded in the North by Kwara State, in the East by Ekiti and by Ondo State, in the South by Ogun State, and in the West by Oyo State.

The State nicknamed “Land of Virtue” derived its name from the River Osun, the venerated natural spring that is the manifestation of the Yoruba goddess of the same name.

Osun State produces over 40,000 tons of quality cocoa annually and a major Gold deposit in Nigeria.

Osun State is located in the southwestern part of Nigeria and is divided into Local Government Areas (LGAs) for administrative purposes. As of the time of writing this article, there are 30 Local Government Areas in Osun State, each with its own headquarters.

Osun State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 9,026 Km2
  • Population: 5,016,593 (Male-2,558,462 and Female-2,458,130)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah.
  • Major crops: Cashew, Cocoa, Maize, Cassava, Oil Palm, Tobacco.
  • Solid minerals: Gold, Clay, Limestone, Kaolin, Granite.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Energy
  • Mining
  • Tourism

Osun has 30 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 30 Local Government Areas in Osun State:

  1. Aiyedaade LGA
  2. Aiyedire LGA
  3. Atakunmosa East LGA
  4. Atakunmosa West LGA
  5. Boluwaduro LGA
  6. Boripe LGA
  7. Ede North LGA
  8. Ede South LGA
  9. Egbedore LGA
  10. Ejigbo LGA
  11. Ife Central LGA
  12. Ife East LGA
  13. Ife North LGA
  14. Ife South LGA
  15. Ifedayo LGA
  16. Ifelodun LGA
  17. Ila LGA
  18. Ilesa East LGA
  19. Ilesa West LGA
  20. Irepodun LGA
  21. Irewole LGA
  22. Isokan LGA
  23. Iwo LGA
  24. Obokun LGA
  25. Odo Otin LGA
  26. Ola Oluwa LGA
  27. Olorunda LGA
  28. Oriade LGA
  29. Orolu LGA
  30. Osogbo

List of Osun State’s 30 Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Osun State along with their headquarters:

AiyedireIle Ogbo
Atakumosa EastIperindo
Atakumosa WestOsu
BoluwaduroOtan Ayegbaju
Ede NorthOja Timi
Ede SouthEde
Ife CentralAjebamidele
Ife EastOke Ogbo
Ife NorthIpetumodu
Ife SouthIfetedo
IlaIla Orangun
Ilesa EastIlesa
Ilesa WestIjebu-Jesa
Odo OtinOkuku
Ola OluwaBode Osi

Please note that the information provided here is accurate as of the time of writing this article. However, changes in administrative divisions may occur in the future, so it is always advisable to refer to official sources for the most up-to-date information.

For more information about Osun State and its Local Government Areas, you can visit the official website of the Osun State Government at

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge available up to January 2024, and there may have been changes in administrative divisions since then. It is always recommended to verify the latest information from official sources or the Osun State Government website mentioned above.


  1. Osun State Government Official Website:

2 thoughts on “List of Local Government Areas in Osun State with Headquarters”

  1. Nice one. Very informative. However, kindly edit Ife North headquarters to Ipetumodu and Ife South to Ifetedo. Also, Oke-Dio, Modakeke is area office headquarters.
    Finally, it will be more appropriate to state that, Ajebamidele is the headquarters of Ife Central Local government thank just putting Ile-Ife.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.