List of Local Government Areas in Taraba State with Headquarters

Taraba State was created on 27 August 1991 out of the defunct Gongola State. The state derives its name from the River Taraba and lies in the Northeast geopolitical region of Nigeria. Taraba State is bounded in the West by Nasarawa and Benue States, Northwest by Plateau State, North by Bauchi State and Gombe State, Northeast by Adamawa State, and East and South by the Republic of Cameroon.

It lies largely within the middle of Nigeria and consists of an undulating landscape dotted with a few mountainous features that rise from the Cameroonian mountains, straining almost the entire length of the state in the North and South direction to link up with the River Niger. A striking historical fact about the State is that it encompasses part of the Mambilla Region, which is famed as the Bantu cradle, having been occupied for some five millennia to date.

Taraba is nicknamed “Nature’s gift to the nation” as the state is rich in culture and minerals as well as many ethnic groups.

Taraba State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 56,282 Km2
  • Population: 3,249,970 (Male- 1,657,485 and Female- 1,592,485)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah & Subtropical Highland
  • Major crops: Millet, Sorghum, Maize, Cassava, Groundnut, Rice, Yam, Gum Arabic, Sugarcane and Cotton.
  • Solid minerals: Baryte, Diamond, Talc, Agates, Amethyst-Quatz, Barite, Cassiterite, Calcite, Bentolitic Clay, Bauxite, Galena, Gold, Flourite, Graphite, Quartz, Rutile, Uranium, Topaz, Sapphire, Zircon, Zinc Ore.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Taraba State, located in the northeastern part of Nigeria, is made up of several Local Government Areas (LGAs). Each LGA has its administrative headquarters where the affairs of the local government are managed.

Taraba has 16 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 16 Local Government Areas in Taraba State:

  1. Ardo-kola LGA
  2. Bali LGA
  3. Donga LGA
  4. Gashaka LGA
  5. Gassol LGA
  6. Ibi LGA
  7. Jalingo LGA
  8. Karin-Lamido LGA
  9. Kurmi LGA
  10. Lau LGA
  11. Sardauna LGA
  12. Takum LGA
  13. Ussa LGA
  14. Wukari LGA
  15. Yorro LGA
  16. Zing LGA

List of Taraba State’s 16 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Taraba State along with their headquarters:

S/NLocal Government AreaHeadquarters
8Karim LamidoKarim Lamido
  1. Ardo-Kola LGA: Headquarters – Sunkani
  2. Bali LGA: Headquarters – Bali
    • Bali LGA – More information about Bali LGA.
  3. Donga LGA: Headquarters – Donga
    • Donga LGA – More information about Donga LGA.
  4. Gashaka LGA: Headquarters – Bambur
  5. Gassol LGA: Headquarters – Dogon-Gawa
    • Gassol LGA – More information about Gassol LGA.
  6. Ibi LGA: Headquarters – Ibi
    • Ibi LGA – More information about Ibi LGA.
  7. Jalingo LGA: Headquarters – Jalingo
  8. Karim Lamido LGA: Headquarters – Karim Lamido
  9. Kurmi LGA: Headquarters – Jibu
    • Kurmi LGA – More information about Kurmi LGA.
  10. Lau LGA: Headquarters – Serti
    • Lau LGA – More information about Lau LGA.
  11. Sardauna LGA: Headquarters – Gembu
  12. Takum LGA: Headquarters – Takum
    • Takum LGA – More information about Takum LGA.
  13. Ussa LGA: Headquarters – Gboko
    • Ussa LGA – More information about Ussa LGA.
  14. Wukari LGA: Headquarters – Wukari
    • Wukari LGA – More information about Wukari LGA.
  15. Yorro LGA: Headquarters – Yorro
    • Yorro LGA – More information about Yorro LGA.
  16. Zing LGA: Headquarters – Zing
    • Zing LGA – More information about Zing LGA.

This comprehensive list provides an overview of all the LGAs in Taraba State, Nigeria, along with their respective headquarters. It can serve as a helpful reference for individuals seeking information about the different local government areas and their administrative centers within the state.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge available up to January 2024, and there may have been changes in administrative divisions since then. It is always recommended to verify the latest information from official sources or the Taraba State Government website mentioned above.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.