List of Local Government Areas in Akwa Ibom State with Headquarters

Akwa Ibom State is one of the 36 states in Nigeria, located in the southern part of the country. It is known for its rich cultural heritage, natural resources, and vibrant economy. The state is divided into local government areas (LGAs) for administrative purposes. This article presents a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in Akwa Ibom State, along with their headquarters.

Akwa Ibom State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 6,900 Km2
  • Capital: Uyo
  • Population: 5,867,932 (Male- 2,992,645 and Female- 2,875,287)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Monsoon.
  • Major crops: Plantain, Oil Palm, Banana, Cassava, Yam, and Cocoa.
  • Solid minerals: Kaolin, Limestone, Coal

There are six agricultural zones in Akwa Ibom state: Oron, Abak, Ikot Ekpene, Etinan, Eket, and Uyo.

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Akwa Ibom has 31 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 31 Local Government Areas in Akwa Ibom State:

  1. Abak LGA
  2. Eastern Obolo LGA
  3. Eket LGA
  4. Esit-Eket LGA
  5. Essien Udim LGA
  6. Etim-Ekpo LGA
  7. Etinan LGA
  8. Ibeno LGA
  9. Ibesikpo-Asutan LGA
  10. Ibiono-Ibom LGA
  11. Ika LGA
  12. Ikono LGA
  13. Ikot Abasi LGA
  14. Ikot Ekpene LGA
  15. Ini LGA
  16. Itu LGA
  17. Mbo LGA
  18. Mkpat-Enin LGA
  19. Nsit-Atai LGA
  20. Nsit-Ibom LGA
  21. Nsit-Ubium LGA
  22. Obot-Akara LGA
  23. Okobo LGA
  24. Onna LGA
  25. Oron LGA
  26. Oruk Anam LGA
  27. Ukanafun LGA
  28. Udung-Uko LGA
  29. Uruan LGA
  30. Urue-Offong/Oruko LGA
  31. Uyo LGA

List of Akwa Ibom State 31 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Local Government AreaHeadquarters
Eastern OboloOkoroete
Esit EketEket
Essien UdimIkot Ekpene
Etim EkpoIkot Ekpene
Ibesikpo AsutanNung Udoe
Ibiono IbomOko Ita
IkaNung Ukim
IkonoIbiaku Ntok Okpo
Ikot AbasiIkot Abasi
Ikot EkpeneIkot Ekpene
IniOdoro Ikpe
Mkpat EninIkot Abasi
Nsit AtaiOdot
Nsit IbomNsit Ibom
Nsit UbiumIkot Osurua
Obot AkaraIkot Akpa Nkuk
OnnaIkot Uboh
Oruk AnamIkot Ibritam
Udung UkoIkot Akpan Nkuk
UkanafunIkot Akpan Nkuk
UruanIdu Uruan
Akwa Ibom State Local Government Areas with Headquarters

This article has provided a comprehensive list of all the Local Government Areas (LGAs) in Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria, along with their headquarters. Akwa Ibom State is a diverse and vibrant state with various LGAs that contribute to the overall development and administration of the state. Each LGA has its unique characteristics and plays a significant role in the socioeconomic growth of the state. For more information on Akwa Ibom State and its LGAs, you can visit the official website of the Akwa Ibom State Government [].

List of Languages in Akwa Ibom State, and their LGAs

The following table lists the languages of Akwa Ibom State, and the local government areas in which they are spoken:

LanguageLGA(s) spoken in
AnaangAbak, Essien Udim, Ika, Ikot Ekpene, Oruk-Anam, Ukanafun,Etim ekpo,
OboloEastern Obolo
EkidEket, Esit Eket
EtebiEsit Eket
IbibioEtinan, Ibiono Ibom, Ikono, Ikot Abasi, Itu, Mkpat Enin, Nsit Atai, Nsit-Ubium, Onna, Uruan, Uyo, Ini.
Ika OkuIka
Itu Mbon UsoIni
EfikItu, Uruan
EbughuMbo, Oron
OroMbo, Oron, Udung Uko, Urue-Offrong-Oruko
IkoEastern Obolo

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.