List of Local Government Areas in Oyo State with Headquarters

Oyo State popularly referred to, as the “Pace Setter” came into existence with the breakup of the old Western State of Nigeria during the State creation exercise on 3 February 1976. It is bounded in the North by Kwara State, in the East by Osun State, in the South by Ogun State, and in the West by Ogun State and the Republic of Benin.

The first University in Nigeria was the University of Ibadan (established as a college of the University of London when it was founded in 1948, and later converted into an Autonomous University in 1962).

Oyo State, located in southwestern Nigeria, is one of the 36 states in the country. It is known for its rich cultural heritage, historical landmarks, and diverse population. The state is divided into several Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own administrative headquarters.

Oyo State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 26,500 Km2
  • Capital: Ibadan
  • Population: 8,392,588 (Male- 4,280,220 and Female- 4,112,368)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Maize, Yam, Cassava, Millet, Rice, Plantain, Cocoa, Oil Palm and Cashew
  • Solid minerals: Clay, Kaolin and Aquamarine

Main Investment Opportunities

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Agribusiness
  • Light Manufacturing
  • Healthcare
  • Tourism
  • Energy
  • Mining

Oyo has 33 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the state. Here is a list of the 33 Local Government Areas in Oyo State:

  1. Akinyele LGA
  2. Afijio LGA
  3. Atiba LGA
  4. Atisbo LGA
  5. Egbeda LGA
  6. Ibadan North LGA
  7. Ibadan North-East LGA
  8. Ibadan North-West LGA
  9. Ibadan South-West LGA
  10. Ibadan South-East LGA
  11. Ibarapa Central LGA
  12. Ibarapa East LGA
  13. Ibarapa North LGA
  14. Ido LGA
  15. Irepo LGA
  16. Iseyin LGA
  17. Itesiwaju LGA
  18. Iwajowa LGA
  19. Kajola LGA
  20. Lagelu LGA
  21. Ogbomosho North LGA
  22. Ogbomosho South LGA
  23. Oyo East LGA
  24. Oyo West LGA
  25. Olorunsogo LGA
  26. Oluyole LGA
  27. Ogo Oluwa LGA
  28. Orelope LGA
  29. Ori Ire LGA
  30. Ona Ara LGA
  31. Saki West LGA
  32. Saki East LGA
  33. Surulere LGA

List of Oyo State’s 33 Local Government Areas with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in Oyo State along with their headquarters:

Ibadan NorthAgodi
Ibadan North-EastIwo Road
Ibadan North-WestOke Ado
Ibadan South-EastMapo
Ibadan South-WestRing Road
Ibarapa CentralIgbo Ora
Ibarapa EastEruwa
Ibarapa NorthAyete
LageluIyana Offa
Ogbomosho NorthArowomole
Ogbomosho SouthOgbomosho
Oyo EastKosobo
Oyo WestOjongbodu
AtibaOfa Meta
Saki EastAgo-Amodu
Saki WestShaki
Ibarapa East LCDAIgbo Ora
Omi-Adio LCDAOmi-Adio
Ogbomosho CentralOgbomosho
Ibadan CentralDugbe
Oyo West LCDAOjongbodu
Ibarapa North East LCDAAyete
Ibadan North East LCDAIwo Road
Ibadan South East LCDAMapo
Ogbomosho South West LCDAArowomole
Iwajowa LCDAIwere-Ile

This comprehensive list provides an overview of all the Local Government Areas (LGAs) in Oyo State, along with their respective headquarters. It can be helpful for various purposes, including administrative reference, research, and general knowledge about the state’s governance structure.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge available up to January 2024, and there may have been changes in administrative divisions since then. It is always recommended to verify the latest information from official sources or the Oyo State Government website mentioned above.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.