List of Local Government Areas in Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja with Headquarters

Abuja is the Federal Capital Territory of Nigeria.  It was created in 1976 by the late General Murtala Mohammed.  It is strategically located in the center of the country and officially became Nigeria’s capital on 12 December 1991, replacing the role of the previous capital, Lagos.

Abuja’s equidistance to all corners of the country and access to key international locations through its modern and busy international airport makes it the natural gateway to explore Nigeria.

Abuja has an unprecedented growth rate of 13% and is divided into six (6) Area Councils.  The strength of Abuja’s economy is attributed to its diverse economic activities ranging from construction and real estate, tourism and leisure, agriculture, and a dynamic service sector that includes infrastructure development.

State Snapshot

  • Total land area: 7,607 Km2
  • Capital: Abuja
  • Major Cities: Asokoro, Garki, Maitama, Wuse, Kado, Durumi, Jabi, Mabushi, Gudu, Katampe, Gwarinpa, Lugbe.
  • Area Councils: 6 ACs – AMAC, Bwari, Kuje, Gwagwalada, Kwali and Abaji
  • Population: 4,292,712 (Male- 2,189,283 and Female- 2,103,429)
  • Vegetation: Tropical Savannah
  • Major crops: Yams, Millet, Sorghum, Maize, Beans.
  • Solid minerals: Feldspar, Clay, Lead, Tin, Marble, Gold, Iron Ore, and Talc.

Main Investment Opportunities:

Opportunities for investment exist in:

  • Infrastructure development
  • Tourism/hospitality
  • Manufacturing
  • Power
  • Agriculture
  • Mining

Here is a comprehensive list of all the LGAs in FCT Abuja and their respective headquarters.

Abuja (FCT) has 6 Local Government Areas (LGAs), each with its own unique characteristics and attributes. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance and administration of the Federal Capital. Here is a list of the 6 Local Government Areas in Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja:

  1. Abaji L.G.A
  2. Bwari L.G.A
  3. Gwagwalada L.G.A
  4. Kuje L.G.A
  5. Kwali L.G.A
  6. Abuja Municipal Area Council LGA

List of 6 Local Government Areas in Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Abuja with their Headquarters

Here is a comprehensive table listing all the LGAs in FCT along with their headquarters:

Abuja MunicipalArea 11, Garki, Abuja

Each of the LGAs in the FCT has its own distinct characteristics and plays a crucial role in the overall governance and development of the territory. Let’s take a closer look at each LGA and its headquarters:

  1. Abaji:
    • Headquarters: Abaji
    • Abaji LGA is situated in the southwestern part of the FCT. It is known for its rich cultural heritage and agricultural activities.
  2. Abuja Municipal:
    • Headquarters: Area 11, Garki, Abuja
    • Abuja Municipal is the central LGA and is home to many government institutions, business centers, and residential areas. It encompasses the central business district of Abuja.
  3. Bwari:
    • Headquarters: Bwari
    • Bwari LGA is located in the northwestern part of the FCT. It is known for its diverse population and is home to the Nigerian Law School.
  4. Gwagwalada:
    • Headquarters: Gwagwalada
    • Gwagwalada LGA is situated in the southeastern part of the FCT. It is home to the University of Abuja and has a growing population.
  5. Kuje:
    • Headquarters: Kuje
    • Kuje LGA is located in the western part of the FCT. It is known for its scenic landscapes and serves as a major transit point between Abuja and other parts of Nigeria.
  6. Kwali:
    • Headquarters: Kwali
    • Kwali LGA is situated in the northern part of the FCT. It is known for its pottery industry and the popular Gurara Waterfalls.

For more information on each LGA, including their demographics, infrastructure, and tourist attractions, you can visit the official website of the Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) at

It is essential to note that the FCT Abuja also includes several development areas and districts, such as the Central Business District, Maitama, Asokoro, Garki, and Wuse, which are not represented as separate LGAs.

In conclusion, the FCT Abuja consists of six Local Government Areas, each with its own headquarters and unique characteristics. These LGAs play a crucial role in the governance, administration, and development of the Federal Capital Territory.

Disclaimer: The information provided in this article is based on the knowledge cutoff of January 2024. Please verify with official sources for any recent updates or changes.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.